If you read my last post, On Planning, you’d know that one of my plans from the other day was to make these adorable shoes for Jack.

DIY recycled baby shoes from prudentbaby.com

DIY recycled baby shoes from prudentbaby.com

Well. I need to (or perhaps I don’t, the images being self-evident) let you know that I am not really a sewer, though sometimes the house may smell like one, now that Jack is in the picture. But I really did think that the directions seemed simple enough for me to attempt this project. After having made the heels, I realized that a sewing machine would probably make life much easier so I enlisted the help of my mother who both has a sewing machine and knows how to use it.

Here are the results – please don’t laugh too too hard, you may hurt yourself or make a mess in your pants (the latter having already happened to someone when she saw Jack wearing the shoes).

baby shoes, kinda

baby shoes, kinda

Homemade shoes, side view

Homemade shoes, side view

Homemade shoes, sole

Homemade shoes, sole

Homemade shoes, heel

Homemade shoes, heel

Aside from the obvious error (one being sewn inside out…I think wine may have been involved) I’m not sure how this happened! Actually, I lie. I’m pretty sure I know where I went wrong. It was with instruction #5.

5.  Now take two top pieces and place them right side up.  Turn your heel pieces right side up and pin the side of them to the top left corner of the flat edge like so:

Instruction 5 for DIY baby shoes from prudentbaby.com

Instruction 5 for DIY baby shoes from prudentbaby.com

I pinned those suckers in a few different ways but couldn’t quite figure it out – the centre of the side? the top? but then wouldn’t she indicate corner instead of side? The whole side?  so I went with what I thought looked right.

Evidently, it wasn’t.

So I will try them again but I wouldn’t mind if someone could give me some more precise (like you are talking to a  5 year old) instructions for number 5!

